Making of an Entrepreneur – I’m not making copies for a Living

This is a reprint of Susan Sherbert’s business humor column from Caypen Magazine

Issue #3 April 2011I’m not making copies for a living

As employees, executives, and entrepreneurs, we all started with that first job. Maybe it was flipping burgers or taking tickets at a movie theater. Maybe it was a paper route, or a lemonade stand. But the second we are handed that first paycheck, that first coin in our pocket, our lives will never be the same. Goodbye childhood and welcome to the grown up world.

So where do we go from here? Well, the theme of this issue is nature verses nurture: the making of an entrepreneur, and I’m the new Caypen humor columnist, so let me start with a little story. And since most of you don’t know me yet, let me warn you that I have a tendency to wander, but I always make a good point at the end. It’s not about how you get there – it’s about knowing where you want to go and never, ever giving up. Did you know that Edison failed 10,000 times before he got the light bulb to work? But I digress.

On with my story. My first job was at a roller skating rink, and there were a few others, but my first “career” job started at a copy shop. I was going to college and the job fit my schedule. The owner was great because when I wasn’t making copies, I realized that it was best to put my nose in a book and stay out of his way. How cool was that! I was getting paid to make copies and do my homework.

Then I graduated from college. I’m not making copies for a living so it’s time to get a better job. The business owner (an entrepreneur) offered me more money to stay. Okay what the heck, I’ll stay a while longer. Soon there were more employees and not much down time, but still I read sales, management, and even accounting books, because I have a brain, and I’m not making copies for a living.

A few years later, I was offered another job. Once again, the owner offered me more money to stay. How could I refuse? The computers were coming. Imagine what these little electronic boxes could do! So I started reading computer books because I knew that some day I would be doing something besides making copies. Then guess what? One day the owner decided to retire. And who do you think he chose to sell the business to? That means I became a business owner… who makes copies for a living.

The moral of the story is; to be an entrepreneur you have to practice, practice, practice. When opportunity knocks, you have to be ready. See I told you I would make a good point by the end of the story. Until next month, smile and start practicing.

###

Did you read Susan’s webpage about never giving up?

Also don’t miss Susan Sherbert’s Business Corny Joke books on Amazon.

What do you do when someone works really hard and becomes debt free?
You give them a little CREDIT

Leave a Reply

