It’s not about the money

This is a reprint of Susan Sherbert’s business humor column from Caypen Magazine

Issue #4 2011 business humor by susan sherbertWhat, Besides Money, Motivates People
To Do What They Do?

Money is such a complicated topic that, as the humor columnist for Caypen Magazine, I’m sure I’ll be writing about it a lot in the future. However, today I’m going to focus on what, besides money, motivates people to do what they do.

Let me start by saying that no one is actually motivated by money. Money is nothing more than a piece of paper. Okay now it’s plastic, but the point is the same. People don’t build empires, sacrifice for their children, or start a war, over pieces of paper. They build empires because they enjoy playing the game, they sacrifice because their hearts tell them too, and they start wars because they are unwilling to compromise.

So if it’s not about the paper with Ben Franklin on it, then why would anyone want to start a business and become an entrepreneur? Ask any small business owner and I’m sure they will tell you that at some point, they were working for less than minimum wage. I have a friend who had a million dollar video game deal at eighteen and was sued for four million dollars at twenty one. Being a business owner is the best and the worst! You get to drive a really nice car and deduct it as a business expense, but you also have to come up with payroll, taxes, and worker’s comp, whether you have the money for it or not.

If the motivation was purely the money, entrepreneurs would get a job in the corporate world. Then they would get fired because they don’t like being told what to do. Following other people’s rules is too hard when you know you have a better way. Owning a business is about freedom and control, and if you are lucky and stick with it long enough, you could end up with tons of money. But again I forget, it’s not about the money. Besides, once you have a billion dollars, money can’t possibly be a motivator. I mean really, how many yachts, mansions, or shoes can one person have?

Passion! Now that is a really big motivator. Look at all of those charities helping people just because it’s the right thing to do. To prove they aren’t in it for the money, passionate people set up “not-for-profit” organizations and the government gives them a nice big thank you, by giving them a break on their taxes. For them, it’s about the passion, not the money. Take me for example. I write this humor column because I want to make people smile. I don’t do it for the money, in fact I’m not even getting paid to write this. I do it for the smiles… and if you did happen to leave a little comment below, to me, that would be priceless.

Now if I could only win the lottery so I didn’t have to make copies for a living, then I’d be really happy.

###

Did you read the sample from chapter 5 about imagination and dreams?

Leave a Reply

